Main menu
Read with PRIDE! Pride reads and more.
Spring DML Magazine
Free Meals Program

Genealogy + History



A comprehensive mix of resources, records, and tools devoted to African American family history research. Includes a connection to expert research assistance.
Covers more than 500 years of African-American history and culture with images, videos, timelines, biographies, maps and more.


(Attention: Ancestry is available through December, 2021 with any Ohio Library Card (or eCard) number from your home!)

An indispensable resource for genealogists and historians providing census data, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, photos, maps, and more.
Free and open source - no library card required! Find historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific time periods in U.S. history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom. This resource supports students from middle school through college, as well as anyone interested in learning more about the ongoing Black Freedom Struggle.
Full text articles and images from the Dayton Daily News, 1898-1922, which includes the Wright Brothers' development of flight and the Flood of 1913.
Full text articles from the Dayton Daily News, 1990-present. Selected articles and those written by DDN staff are available approximately 24 hours after publication. (Does not include obituaries or classified ads.)
Genealogical information for researchers including Obituaries, Our Forefathers, Service Notes, Marriages, Gedenk Blaetter and more.
Thousands of digitized images and documents pertaining to the history of the Miami Valley. All items included in this site are owned by Dayton Metro Library.
Historic digital collections from libraries, museums, and archives across Ohio and more. The DPLA portal to photographs, maps, documents, and AV materials from across the country is a great starting place for your local history and genealogy reference.
A premier collection of historical U.S. military records for use in genealogy and other research. Stories, photos, and personal documents bring details of America’s military veterans to life.
An essential collection of genealogical and historical sources for more than 60 countries, including census records, books, serials, and other historical records.
Death certificate information for Ohio residents spanning the years 1913-1937, from the Ohio Historical Society.
More than 26,000 digitized historical documents from Ohio libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives, from the Ohio Historical Society.
An index to magazine articles covering 1890-1982. Many of these are available as print copies in the Dayton Room at the Main Library.
Large-scale, detailed maps of Ohio cities produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Company, 1882-1962. Useful for identifying buildings and studying the growth of towns and cities.
© 2014 - 2021 Dayton Metro Library. All Rights Reserved - Privacy Policy
(Large DesktopTabletPhone Layout)