Displaying All Databases
Includes 30 million business & executive profiles, and 240 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, and employment opportunities.
A leading multidisciplinary research database providing full text articles from more than 4,500 publications. Includes files back to 1975 and topical video content from 1930 to the present.
A comprehensive mix of resources, records, and tools devoted to African American family history research. Includes a connection to expert research assistance.
Covers more than 500 years of African-American history and culture with images, videos, timelines, biographies, maps and more.
Uniquely put together for Dayton Metro Library, our patrons, and area communities, this database offers approximately 32 different collections that cover a variety of sub-topics relating to African American history.
Covering a critical period of colonialism (1910-1940), this collection brings together primary source materials that enlighten the study of politics, culture, and history. It provides particular insight into German, Italian, British, Portuguese, and American influences as the world advanced toward World War II.
Full-text of more than 200,000 essential works of English and American literature from the 16th through 20th centuries, including poetry, drama, prose, and the Bible.
Provides access to over 2,100 local, regional and national news sources, featuring over 40 titles from the state of Ohio.
(Only available in Library locations.)
- An indispensable resource for genealogists and historians providing census data, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, photos, maps, and more.
Program spans the sixteenth to twentieth centuries and is the largest digital collection of historical primary source publications relating to the history and study of sex, sexuality, and gender research and gender studies research. Documentation covering disciplines such as social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer) communities around the world.
Particular strengths in the Archive Unbound program include U.S. foreign policy; U.S. civil rights; global affairs and colonial studies; and modern history. Broad topic clusters include: African Studies, African American Studies, Archives of Sexuality and Gender, Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture, China and the Modern World, Indigenous Peoples of North America, Holocaust Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, and Religions of America.
Biographies, obituaries, and photographs of individuals both living and deceased, updated monthly. Searchable by time period, profession, place of origin, or birth and death dates.
Free and open source - no library card required! Find historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific time periods in U.S. history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom. This resource supports students from middle school through college, as well as anyone interested in learning more about the ongoing Black Freedom Struggle.
Black Life in America is a unique digital archive of news media is sourced from more than 19,000 American and global news sources, including over 400 current and historical Black publications. By offering balanced coverage from diverse sources published from 1704 through present day, this multi-disciplinary resource is crucial for the study and interpretation of historical and current events.
This resource brings together over 80,000 pages of pamphlets from 1800 to the late twentieth century. These pamphlets cover history, politics, literature, and other important subject areas in the form of speeches, flyers, official decrees, sermons, poems, plays, concert and theater programs, and more pertaining to Latin America's largest and most influential power.
Full text and searchable cited references for top journals covering a variety of business disciplines. Research articles, company and industry profiles, market research reports and more.
A comprehensive resource for exploring career and education options. Self-assessment tests match your skills and interests with career possibilities. In-depth info on hundreds of occupations, a database of post-secondary education options, and more.
Accurate, complete, detailed DIY repair and service information for any make and model of car, truck, van or SUV. Diagnostics, maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, and step-by-step repair procedures.
This collection is sourced from preeminent libraries and archives across the world, including the Second Historical Archives of China and the British Library. The series covers a period of about 180 years (1800s to 1980s) when China experienced radical and often traumatic transformations from an inward-looking imperial dynasty into a globally engaged republic.
Full text of the Columbus Dispatch from 1985 to the present. Full image issues from August 2017 to the present. Email, print, download, or cite articles easily.
Comics Plus provides patrons with unlimited, simultaneous access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from a variety of publishers. You will be prompted for a "Username or Library ID" this is your Library Card or eCard number
. No Library card?
Get an eCard online here
Content covers all key areas of health and wellness, from mainstream medicine to many perspectives of complementary and holistic medicine.
Research before you buy with trusted, unbiased product reviews and ratings for cars, appliances, electronics, and more.
Provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
Reports on more than 200 different countries for upper elementary-age students. Reports include up-to-date cultural information, images, timelines, and fun facts, plus sections on “life as a kid,” and more.
Full text articles and images from the Dayton Daily News, 1898-1922, which includes the Wright Brothers' development of flight and the Flood of 1913.
Full text of the Dayton Daily News from 1990 to the present. Full image issues from September 28, 2018 to the present. Email, print, download, or cite articles easily.
Genealogical information for researchers including Obituaries, Our Forefathers, Service Notes, Marriages, Gedenk Blaetter and more.
Thousands of digitized images and documents pertaining to the history of the Miami Valley. All items included in this site are owned by Dayton Metro Library.
More than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures.
Historic digital collections from libraries, museums, and archives across Ohio and more. The DPLA portal to photographs, maps, documents, and AV materials from across the country is a great starting place for your local history and genealogy reference.
Stories, videos, songs, and games that encourage reading comprehension and mastery of phonetic skills. Three interactive learning environments for preschoolers and early elementary grades.
Provides full-text magazines, reference books and primary source documents covering virtually every subject of general interest, plus an extensive image collection. Updated daily.
An online library of education literature and research, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. Includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and more.
Magazines, journals, books, and videos for students in grades K-5 and their teachers, ideal for reports and class projects.
Easy-to-use features and reliable content from the world's leading magazines and reference books for personal and professional research.
Designed for students in grades 6-12 and their teachers, provides articles from journals and books to use as sources for homework and school projects.
Access specialized government documents including the CIA World Fact Book, Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, the Congressional Record, and more in electronic format. (Paper format located at Main Library).
A premier collection of historical U.S. military records for use in genealogy and other research. Stories, photos, and personal documents bring details of America’s military veterans to life.
(Only Available at the Main Library.)
- Foundation Directory Online (FDO) delivers quality funding prospects. By combining exhaustive data with intuitive search functionality and informative data visualizations, FDO delivers the information you need to reach your fundraising goals quickly and efficiently.
More than 6,000 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grant seekers.
Age-appropriate, easy-to-use and curriculum-based content covering a broad range of educational topics.
Access four directories: Brands and their Companies; Encyclopedia of Associations; Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media; and Scholarships, Fellowships and Loans.
Reference eBook collection searchable by subject. Includes Arts, Biography, Business, History, Literature, Religion, Science, Technology, General Reference and more.
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office providing free access to important informational publications produced by the Federal Government.
(Only available in Library locations. See a member of staff to use this tool.)
This online directory generates investor names, homeowner names, phone numbers, and addresses of households in a given area to help keep business out in front of existing and new customers. It can be used for generating leads, creating telemarketing lists, and targeting prospects with direct mail campaigns.
Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines. Includes the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health
HelpNow offers FREE live, online tutoring, collaboration, and study tools. Especially helpful for students in middle and high school grades - give it a try! Tutors are available every day from 2:00 PM - 11:00 PM EST.
HeritageHub provides access to hundreds of years of obituaries and death notices from thousands of newspapers across the United States. This one-of-a-kind collection helps patrons and family historians uncover new family members and understand family relationships on a deeper level than ever before.
An essential collection of genealogical and historical sources for more than 60 countries, including census records, books, serials, and other historical records.
Detailed how-to instructions, creative ideas, and full text articles from leading hobby and craft magazines for virtually every hobby enthusiast.
Deep and broad in its coverage, this collection incorporates anti-Semitic propaganda, correspondence from prisoners, documents from resistance groups, bank records from Nazi financiers, eyewitness accounts from concentration camps, and much more.
Comprehensive, full text content from leading home improvement magazines, plus how-to videos, images, and instructions for popular home repair projects.
This resource enables exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century. Sourced from both American and Canadian institutions, as well as direct-from-source from newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations. The collection also features indigenous-language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers.
JobNow offers self-assessments, resume assistance, interview prep, and skills enhancement. Career coaches provide live, one-on-one help with every step of the job search process - free.
Create customizable, legal documents in minutes, including estate, real estate, financial, and business documents. LawDepot is now part of Libby!
You have two ways you can access this resource. You can install the Libby app
on your personal mobile device and use it there. If you do not have a device of your own, or you prefer to use a computer, you can visit LibbyApp.com
, log-in with your Dayton Metro Library card number/pin, then click on the Library icon at the bottom, then scroll down to 'Extras' and select LawDepot.
Learn new skills (or keep your skills current) with 4,700+ business, creative and technology courses with expert-led video tutorials.
Using the Linkedin Learning App?
Using the LinkedIn Learning app can be tricky the first time. After installing the app on your device, you will click "Sign In" then under the email box click "Sign in with your library card." You will then be asked to "Enter your Library ID." The Dayton metro Library ID is OH0063. After this you can enter your Library card number and PIN and start your learning journey.
Research an author, novel, or poem for school or for personal interest. Provides useful information for book discussions.
Up-to-date biographical information, overviews, literary criticism, and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all eras and around the world.
A self-paced, language learning resource offering more than 70 language courses focused on practical conversation.
Authoritative information from over 5,400 current biomedical journals on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more, created by the National Library of Medicine.
Gain a better understanding of the academic discipline of Middle Eastern Studies, also known as Near Eastern Studies, which takes an interdisciplinary approach to the study of the region located to the east and south of the Mediterranean Sea, including the Arabian Peninsula and parts of North Africa, extending as far as Afghanistan in Central Asia. Middle Eastern Studies is part of a broader category of study known as area studies, which examines all geographic, political, or cultural regions.
Data reports for investors covering more than 20,000 stocks and mutual funds.
Full text articles from U.S. and international newspapers, plus television and radio news transcripts. Selected full text from almost 400 regional (U.S.) newspapers.
Get free unlimited access to the New York Times website and app with just your library card. You will need to create a NYTimes.com digital account and access outside the library is granted by 72 hour access. Need help? Learn more here
Focusing on basic digital literacy skills, Northstar provides assessments in fourteen digital skills, offers instructor-led curricula, and provides self-directed online learning. Staff will be able to create learner accounts so that patrons’ learning and completed assessments can be documented.
Recommended fiction and nonfiction reading lists for elementary and middle school students and educators. Search by age range from dozens of topics and genres.
Fiction and nonfiction book lists and recommended reading based on books you've enjoyed or topics and genres that interest you.
Death certificate information for Ohio residents spanning the years 1913-1937, from the Ohio Historical Society.
A one-stop employment and training center where Job Seekers can access job information, training programs and other services needed for career development, and Employers can access a pool of qualified, job-ready workers.
More than 26,000 digitized historical documents from Ohio libraries, museums, historical societies, and archives, from the Ohio Historical Society.
State of Ohio website providing information about and access to state services.
Fact sheets from Ohio State University Extension provide scientifically-based information about home and garden, food, natural resources, small business, farming, and home economics.
Our OverDrive collection featuring eBooks, eAudiobooks and even Videos for free with your library card. Easily download to your devices or read through a browser. Help your children become lifelong readers. Need device help or support? Click here
Our Teen OverDrive collection featuring popular eBooks and eAudiobooks free with your library card. Easily download to your devices or read through a browser. Need device help or support? Click here
In-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics in the humanities, social sciences, and science.
Hundreds of current and/or controversial topics presented with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument), plus guides to critical analysis.
Create an account with OhioMeansJobs and access practice tests include the GED, ACT, SAT, career and licensing exams, skills building and more.
Provides access to current newspapers and magazines from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Use online or in the PressReader app
. Includes over 3,000 U.S. and international titles.
A highly specialized database of full text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians, and education researchers. Includes nearly 520 education journals and more than 350 peer-reviewed titles.
An index to magazine articles covering 1890-1982. Many of these are available as print copies in the Dayton Room at the Main Library.
Founded on the ideal of freedom, North America had a unique role as a birthplace for and spread of new religious movements. Religions of America presents scholars and researchers with more than 660,000 pages of content that follow the development of religions and religious movements born in the United States from 1820 to 1990.
Reference Solutions is a powerful online reference and research tool providing library cardholders instant, real-time access to accurate, in-depth information on U.S. businesses (59 million) and U.S. residents (310 million). Reference Solutions makes it faster and easier to find new business opportunities, research executives and companies, find news articles, conduct job searches, research papers, locate addresses and phone numbers, conduct market research and much more.
Large-scale, detailed maps of Ohio cities produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance Company, 1882-1962. Useful for identifying buildings and studying the growth of towns and cities.
Designed for student researchers, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books, and a vast collection of images.
Trace the global history of slavery between the 17th and 19th centuries with over five million pages of material that document the history of slave trade.
Exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books. Includes business videos, an advice section, and details on how to create business plans.
Statista supports businesses and researchers by providing statistics and survey results in charts and tables. The data provided cover advertisement, buying behavior or specific industries.
Self-paced courses build listening, speaking, reading and writing skills in more than 100 different languages. Unique courses for business and medical purposes. ESL component provides English learning to speakers of over 25 different languages.
This exciting children’s eBook database features animated stories, chapter book read-alongs, games and more – all designed to build reading, math and multiple literacy skills in grades K-6.
One of the most widely used independent investment information services, includes analysis of stocks, mutual funds, options, and convertibles. (Accessible only in the Library.)
Concise introductions to a huge range of subjects, written by experts who combine facts, analysis, and new ideas to make challenging topics highly readable.
Tools and guidance especially for veterans and their families. Navigate benefits, transition to civilian employment, brush up on academic skills, and get free, one-on-one assistance from experts.
Provides full text vocational and technical information coverage for nearly 340 trade and industry-related periodicals.
Get free access to the Wall Street Journal with your Library or eCard! There are two ways you can access the Wall Street Journal: on a library computer in a branch, and on your own computer, tablet or phone. Learn more here
The classic homework tool for searching a variety of topics. Articles, audio clips, video clips, images and timelines for preschool through college.
has created an expanded distance learning resource page, with tips, tutorials and activities. For the month of April, they have added additional subscriptions to Ohio's collection, including eBooks, a craft/activity resource, and additional science and social studies portals.
A catalog of 2 billion items held by libraries all over the world. Start here to verify the existence of a title or to look up the output of an author.